Assignments

Q: What is an assignment?

Assignments give admins the capability to pose a question or task to learners who have to submit an entry against the assignment.

 

Q: How do I set up an assignment?

Assignments are created by clicking on the drop down menu next to the 'Create a Lesson' button. See the following guide here for a step-by-step process of how to set up an assignment.

 

Q: Can I make assignments mandatory to my learners to complete a course?

Yes, you can make assignments mandatory in the 'Completion Requirements' section. By default, all assignments are set as mandatory, unless specified otherwise in 'Course Requirements Section' of the course settings (under the 'Completions' tab).

 

Q: Can I make assignments optional for my learners?

Yes, you can make assignments optional in the 'Completion Requirements' section of configuration. You click the 'Here' hyperlink in the note underneath the requirements section which will take you to the 'Course Requirements' section of the course settings (under the 'Completions' tab). You can then choose the option of 'Specific Lessons are Required' and ensure the assignment is in the 'All Lessons' table to the left.

 

Q: Why has the completion requirement section become greyed out and non-clickable?

This is because the assignment is now set to optional, so there will be no need to set any criteria for passing this assignment. If you want to choose one of these options that are greyed out, the assignment will need to be made mandatory.

 

Q: Can I set certain criteria for my learners to pass the assignment?

Yes, in order to pass the assignment,  users will either have to:

  1. Submit an assignment and post one comment
  2. Submit an assignment

 

Q: How will the learners know what criteria they need to fulfil in order to pass this assignment?

In the learner’s app, a leaner will see a status icon that will either say “completed” or “incomplete”. When they click on this icon a message will appear to remind them of the requirements to complete the assignment. 

 

Q: Can I limit the access of my assignment to certain users?

Yes you can. Firstly, it is useful to note that this assignment will be available to anyone who has access to the course it is part of. You can check the access in the 'Access Rules' section of the course. Secondly, you can determine which posts users can view when accessing this assignment with two options:

  1. All users who have access to the course can see all submissions entered
  2. Users can only see submission from users in their user group

 

Q: Can I set up a prerequisite to my assignment?

Yes, on the 'Access Rules' of the assignment, you can select which lessons need to be completed before the assignment can be accessed

 

Q: Can I set a date for the assignment to be accessible? 

Yes, on the 'Access Rules' of the assignment, you can select the dates that this assignment can be accessed by the users. The assignment will show a small locked symbol until the access dates.

 

Q: When I set a date for my assignment to be accessed by users, will this be the date in the user's timezone?

Yes, this date will be specific to the users' device’s timezone. 

 

Q: Where do I see the submissions to my assignment?

All submissions can be found on the 'Assignments' section under the 'Peer Learning' tab. You will then be able to see all assignments that are in your account.

 

Q: On the assignment page, what does the completion percentage icon show?

This shows the percentage of all users who have access to the assignment that have passed the assignment.

 

Q: How do I know which assignments need to be graded?

By going onto the 'Assignments' page on the 'Peer Learning' tab you will see all the assignments that have been created in the account. Click on the assignment you want to check and you will see all the submissions. In the status column you will see one of three statuses: Pending Grade (blue in colour), Passed (light grey in colour) and Try Again (dark grey in colour). Any assignment that are 'Pending Grade' are yet to be graded.

 

Q: I have chosen a grade for my learner’s submission but cant submit it, what should I do?

You will need to also give the learner a comment on their submission as well as a grade before you can publish the feedback.

 

Q: Can I edit feedback once I have given it?

Yes, you can edit the feedback by clicking the 'Edit Feedback' button.

 

Q: If I give a user the instructor role, what will they be able to do for assignments?

Instructors will have a limited view of the admin portal to only include peer learning capabilities. This will include being able to comment on and grade submissions and their comments will also appear in a navy colour.

 

Q: Can my learners use photos and videos in their submissions?

Yes, users can add photos and videos (‘.mov’,  ‘.mp4’ and max size 60mb) to their submissions by clicking on the image icon when going to write their submission. 



Q: What does “watching post” mean?

Watching a post is a feature where users will receive push notifications based on the post they have turned watching on. To watch a post, learners will need to click the small eye icon. This is an optional feature.

 

Q: Some comments are showing as a dark navy colour, what does this mean?

This means that the comment was made by a user who is an Admin or an instructor.

 

Q: How will the learner know that it is an assignment?

When learners open a course, they can see all the lesson types the Admin or content author has added (discussion, assignment or lesson). Learners can also see icons and text that distinguish the lesson types, as well as the title and assignment prompt.

 

Q: Why can’t my learner see the complete or in complete criteria on their app?

If the learner can’t see the icon that states whether the assignment is complete or incomplete this is because the assignment is set to optional.

 

Q: When I give feedback to my learners and grade their submission, will everyone be able to see this?

No, if the feedback and grade is only available to the learner whose submission you are grading. There is a hint underneath this box to let you know that this is a private comment. 

 

Q: What happens when I give a submission 'Try Again'?

The learner will see the feedback given by the Admin or instructor. They will be prompted to retake the assignment as their status icon will say now say 'Incomplete'.